Dhanteras – know the eight forms of Maa Laxmi that are worshipped

 Dhanteras – know the eight forms of Maa Laxmi that are worshipped
 Neha Mangal
The very auspicious and one of the most important days of Diwali, Dhanteras, is today November 10. The day falls on the 13th day of Krishna Paksha in the month of Kartik as per the Vedic system. Today Internet is flooded with the articles of the rituals and method of worshiping Goddess Laxmi.
So here I want to share a different perspective to understand the deeper meaning & significance of this day of abundance & prosperity thoroughly.
When we talk about wealth we limit it in the context of liquid cash /money or precious metals like Gold or Silver, Diamond or Gems only. But when we try to understand it with a broader perspective, wealth is connected with every aspect of the human life with the essential attributes. So good health is wealth, loving relationships is wealth, having a good career and professional life is wealth too… So, having ready cash is just one part of wealth, and we must pray for wealth in all its forms, not just one. Having all kinds of wealth is what makes an abundant life.
Their are eight forms of Maa Lakshmi, thats the reason it is called ASHTALAKSHMI. These names are Aadi Lakshmi, Dhaanya Lakshmi, Dhairya Lakshmi, Gaja Lakshmi, Santana Lakshmi, Vijaya Lakshmi, Vidya Lakshmi and Dhana Lakshmi.
Aadi Lakshmi
Aadi Lakshmi is considered as the early stage type of Lakshmi. She is the Iccha Shakti of Aadi Parashakti; the mother of all creation as all that which is made out of time, space and matter has been conceived out of her longing. She is dearest to Madhusudana/Vishnu and dwells in his heart (vakshasthala). Her complexion is Golden and she holds a moon over her head. She grants inner peace and liberation to her devotees.
Dhaany Lakshmi
Dhaany implies food grains. As Dhaanya Lakshmi she is the mother of food grains from seed to germination till ripening of food grains she provides conducive atmosphere for development of vegetation. She represents fertility of soil and species and helps in procreation and  overall prosperity. She lessens the impact of Kali Yuga/age to her devotees.
Dhairy Lakshmi
Dhairya means Patience. This form of mother provides persistence and stability to the mind of the native, thereby providing right decision-making skills in adverse situation. Unbearable pain can also be warded off by her blessings.
Gaj Lakshmi
Gaj Lakshmi sits on a  lotus while two elephants (Gaj) pour milk nectar upon her body from their kalasha vessels. This avatar of Maa Lakshmi is the granter of aananda (euphoric blissfulness). She is seated on a fully bloomed pink lotus which represents that she is above everything and remains untouched by any mortal disturbances created by mind indulged in materialism, because she is the bliss of supreme consciousness. The elephants pouring nectar over her body speaks to the progression of nectar from divine mother to her devotees. Which signifies to remain contented even in odd situations.
Santaan Lakshmi
Santaan means offspring or children. The one who sustain your lineage. She is the divine Mother for all species of life, and also grants auspiciousness of fertility and children to her devotees in need, seated on a bird which means she is forever free (mukta) and boundless. As universal mother to all life forms she has also created passion (moh) in them so they remain attached and behave accordingly with their surrounding environment, as every life form is dependent on the conducive environment for it’s survival. She has generated passion in man and other species to remain on the earth, similarly on fishes and other aquatic lives to remain under seas otherwise if that intelligence is not there they’ll end up killing themselves with ignorance .This is her compassion & love, thus Santaan Lakshmi grants the quality of universal motherhood.
Vijay Lakshmi
Vijaya Lakshmi is the one who is forever victorious upon all inner enemies created by the mind which are anger, greed, passion, lust, ego and ignorance. Vijaya Lakshmi grants her devotee that phenomenal intelligence which helps them to take control over these enemies and to progress further in their spiritual path. Victory is also associated with this celebration, so this form of Maa Lakshmi is fond of auspicious sounds of musical instruments which celebrate her victory. Adi Shankaracharya worshiped her with Kanakadhaara Stotram.
Vidhy Lakshmi
Vidhya means great wisdom/ knowledge. This form of Mahalakshmi is the giver of highest knowledge to her devotees. She has a peaceful form with a smiling face which represents that once a spiritual aspirant realizes his ultimate self with spiritual wisdom he becomes bereft of his mortal sufferings and becomes Ananda or bliss. She grants Nava Nidhis (nine auspicious treasures) representing different qualities to her devotees to feel & acquire the wholeness within, which are mahapadam (fully bloomed giant pink lotus – highest intelligence), padam (softness of lotus – compassion), shankha (conch – purity), makara (crocodile patiently waits for an opportunity to grab his food – patience), kachua (turtle shell – inner mental strength and outer physical strength), mukunda (cinnabar which represents healing of mind from suffering and strengthening of positivity), kund (jasmine representing fragrance of Divine auspiciousness) and nila (sapphire – it’s blueness represents realisation of infinite cosmic energies).
Dhan Lakshmi
Dhana Lakshmi is inner richness, and also is the creator of material wealth and prosperity. As inner auspiciousness or Dhana she gives auspicious thoughts and peace in mind. She is worshiped with auspicious naad (sound) of the drum and shankhnaad sound blown from the conch as she is the Goddess of auspiciousness and piousness. She blesses with the wisdom incorporated in the Vedas and Shastras to her devotees as spiritual wealth. The divine form of Lakshmi who resides in ksheersagar (sea of milk) with Maha Vishnu, as she also gives him Dhan (strength) to work for the sustenance of the creation.
Dhanteras is also celebrated as Dhanvantari Jayanti. Rishi Dhanvantari, the God of health is the reincarnation of Lord Vishnu, which came out with the pot of nector during the samudra manthan (churning of the ocean), during the battle between Devas and Asuras. Lord Dhanvantari is the founder of Ayurveda, and this day he is worshipped for good health; to remove any illness and bestow us with good immune system to protect ourself from any disease. Body is the tool with which our soul fulfills the purpose of its existence and can accomplish its goals. So, if you are healthy and free from any diseases it means you are endowed with big wealth in life.
Puja – 05:47pm  to 07:43pm (01.56 minutes)
Yama Deepam
Pradosh Kaal – 05:30pm to 08:08pm
Vrishabha Kaal – 05:47pm to 07:43pm


News, Lifestyle & Entertainment stories - all at one place

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: